My Magical Emporium

                         ~Knowledge is the Currency of the Universe~

7 Chakras

The 7 Chakras are the energy centers in our body in which energy flows through.

Blocked energy in our Chakras can often lead to illness! It's important to understand what each Chakra represents and some things we can do to keep this energy flowing freely.

1. Root Chakra - Represents our foundation and feeling of being grounded.

    Location: Base of spine in tailbone area.
    Emotional issues: Survival issues such as financial independence,     money, and food.
    Color: Red

Healing Exercises:
    Stomping your bare feet on the ground. Remember, the Root Chakra is all about feeling "grounded."
    Practicing Kundalini Yoga can open up your lower spine. Bridge Pose is another good yoga pose to try out (see above image).

Healing Foods:
    Red colored foods (apples and beets)
    Hot spices (Red cayenne peppers and Tabasco sauce)
    Vegetables from the ground (potatoes and carrots)
    Animal proteins (red meat and eggs)


2. Sacral Chakra - Our connection and ability to accept others and new experiences.

    Location: Lower abdomen, about 2 inches below the navel and 2 inches in.
    Emotional issues: Sense of abundance, well-being, pleasure, sexuality.
    Color: Orange

Healing Exercises:
    Pelvic thrusts
    Cobra Yoga Pose

Healing Foods:
    Orange colored foods (oranges, tangerines)
    Nuts (any kind)

3. Solar Plexus Chakra - Our ability to be confident and in-control of our lives.

    Location: Upper abdomen in the stomach area.
    Emotional issues: Self-worth, self-confidence, self-esteem.
    Color: Yellow

Healing Exercises:
    Kundalini Yoga, Boat Pose (image above)
    Dancing. Shake those hips!

Healing Foods:
    Yellow colored foods (corn)
    Grains and fiber (granola, whole wheat bread)
    Teas (peppermint, chamomile tea)

4. Heart Chakra - Our ability to love.

    Location: Center of chest just above heart.
    Emotional issues: Love, joy, inner peace.
    Color: Green

Healing Exercises:
    Bikram Yoga
    Love, love, love. Simply opening up our hearts to others is the best healing exercise to open up the Heart Chakra.

Healing Foods:
    Green colored foods (leafy vegetables, spinach)
    Green tea

5. Throat Chakra - Our ability to communicate.

    Location: Throat.
    Emotional issues: Communication, self-expression of feelings, the truth.
    Color: Blue

Healing Exercises:
    Shoulder stand (see above image)
    Singing, chanting

Healing Foods:
    Juices and teas
    Fruits (all kinds)

6. Third Eye Chakra - Our ability to focus on and see the big picture.

    Location: Forehead between the eyes. (Also called the Brow Chakra)
    Emotional issues: Intuition, imagination, wisdom, ability to think and     make decisions.
     Color: Indigo

Healing Exercises:
   Child's Pose or other types of yoga poses with forward bends.
    Eye exercises.
    Herbal oil treatment (see above image).

Healing Foods:
    Purple colored fruits (grapes, blueberries)
    Lavender flavored spices or tea

7. Crown Chakra - The highest Chakra represents our ability to be fully connected spiritually.

    Location: The very top of the head.
    Emotional issues: Inner and outer beauty, our connection to spirituality, pure bliss.
    Color: Violet
Healing Exercises:
    Running or cardio

 Healing Foods: Since the Crown Chakra represents our spiritual connection to our surroundings, this Chakra does not benefit
                from healing foods. The Crown Chakra is more likely to benefit from breathing clean and fresh air and sunshine.